Spring cleaning and hunting for squirrels

Wednesday 10 April 2013

Erythronium.  In the Lily Wood.   I think it is Erythronium tuolumnense.   If it’s not, I’m sure the Plant Police will soon let me know


Erythronium. In the Lily Wood. I think it is Erythronium tuolumnense. If it’s not, I’m sure the Plant Police will soon let me know.

Lovely to be working in the warm sun in the Lily Wood. The usual Spring clean of one of the large beds, trying not to step on the bluebells and hundreds of bulbs just showing above the ground. We have a new volunteer, Ruth, who LOVES digging so she got a great welcome from Team Wednesday. She spent all afternoon digging out barrow loads of Ground Elder. Welcome, Ruth.

I have been trying, for years, to get a good photograph of one of our red squirrels, after all Mount Stewart is a Red Squirrel sanctuary. There are lots to be seen but are so quick that it is almost impossible to get a good picture. William, one of Mount Stewart’s gardeners, brought me to a clearing in the woods (that sounds like an opening line to a murder story) where squirrels feed quite tamely on nuts and seeds and don’t seem to mind people being around. I sat on a log for an hour in the sun, camera poised, but no squirrels. So back to the drawing board. Maybe it will need an early morning start, but I will get one eventually.

Jill

Leave a Reply

