Magical plants in this magical place

Wednesday 6 March 2013

Pseudopanax laetus


Pseudopanax laetus

What a magical place Mount Stewart is. Weeding away in the Lily Wood, minding my own business, when I just looked up and there, right in front of me, was this amazing shrub/small tree covered in these indescribably beautiful flowers. I thought, gosh, it’s a Pseudopanax laetus (no, I didn’t, I got the name from Lesley). Everything else I did during the day faded into insignificance, I kept going back to have another look. Sorry, that all sounds a bit nerdy but it was quite an unexpected treat on a cold March day. Apparently these are very palatable to possums and goats but that probably won’t apply in this case. The shrub is quite big so it has been there for years but obviously I had never been working in that part of the Lily Wood in March before. It is about 100 yards from the archway leading from the Spanish Garden into the Lily Wood, on the left.

Jill

Leave a Reply

